the dubbing discussion thread

The place to discuss anything relating to anime or manga.

In wich language do you usually watch animes!?

Japanese
26%
English
42%
My own language (if you're born and raised in japan also vote for this option)
No votes
Different (please post)
32%

Total votes: 19
Gisol888

the dubbing discussion thread

Well I'm pretty new with animes an I haven't watched much animes yet ( I mostly read mangas) and I just don't know in wich language i should watch animes!
I would love to know in wich language you usually watch animes and why you're watching it in this language!!

If you're born and raised in japan or know the japanese language well enough to watch animes without subtiles, vote for MY OWN LANGUAGE!!!

I would love to know your opinions because i just have no idea wich language i should listen to! I don't know if i should read all the time the subtiles but i also don't want to miss the anime feeling (bad voice actors)
please help me!

Greetings Gisol888
wow animes are just awesome!
Strike Zero

Re: the dubbing discussion thread

Well, most of the anime I watch is in Japanese by default because I watch it as its coming out -- that is, before it has a chance to be dubbed and released here in the States.

That said, I've never strictly watched anime either sub-only, or dub-only. Most times, I'll end up watching a show I own in both languages. Sometimes I'll like both just fine, sometimes I'll prefer one over the other. It varies from show to show.
Thundermuffin wrote:SETSUNA: There is no Tomino in this world.
bullethead

I picked "Different" because it was the closest thing to Other I could find.

For me, it depends on which I hear first and/or which I perceive to fit better. While I do watch anime subbed, I always give the dub a shot (even Sentai dubs, which are horrible - I do it to see just how bad they are). If I like the dub better, I usually stick with it; if not, I go back to the subs.