UC Questions

The place to discuss anything relating to anime or manga.
Arbiter GUNDAM

UC Questions

I've been looking into 0079 lately and a couple of things suddenly occured to me.

1. Degwin's famous quote to Gihren about beaing a space-age Hitler seems kind of out of place all of a sudden. Considering all the things that Degwin himself did and that the Zeon did at the start of the war, I'm not so sure now why Degwin is so worried about the actions of his son.

2. If Char wanted revenge for the death of his father, then why'd he kill ALL the Zabi's? Think about it, IIRC Char and Sayla's father was assassinated when they were little kids. I'm no expert but I would think that the older Zabi children would only still be children themselves, most likely uninvolved in the plot. So why does Char kill all the Zabi's when really his vengeance should be focused on Degwin and also considering that Garma was his good friend and Kycillia at least thought he was too valuable to just get rid of?

3. Who is Sasro Zabi?
I can fly if I ride the wind! Gori gori!

--Freyja Wion
Hyakushiki

Re: UC Questions

1. I got the Idea that it was Gihren that was handling the overall war strategy for Zeon, Degwin in his later years was sovereign and head of state but his children ran the day to day affairs. What was more disturbing to me was that Gihren took the remark as a sort of complement.

2. This one ties into your first question, the Zabis embodied the heart of the Zeon state, leaving any of them around would give their supporters a leader to rally behind to resist any attempts to oust them from power. Char wanted revenge, and once he started down that path he had to go all the way with it, but he also wanted to reform the Zeon government to make it more like his father's vision. As long as the Zabis were around that was not likely to happen.
Don't send a coordinator to do a newtype's job!
Fritz Ashlyn