beam sniper, just how practical it is?

The future is now. This is the place for mecha and science.
quasadra

beam sniper, just how practical it is?

after watching the 12 ep of 00, one thing come to my mind. when Lockon snipe those amphs, Graham quickly remark it as a gundam and finds Lockon with it.

so my question is, when you fire a beam sniper you get a big bright flash that gives up your location immediately. isnt sniper surpose to relied on stealth and surprise? maybe we should stick to solid round rifles.
SD Gundam Capsule Fighter Online SEA IGN: 8bitNPC
Black Knight

I've been arguing that point for at least four years, maybe five. Still, it's always nice to have more converts....
mcred23

Re: beam sniper, just how practical it is?

quasadra wrote:so my question is, when you fire a beam sniper you get a big bright flash that gives up your location immediately. isnt sniper surpose to relied on stealth and surprise? maybe we should stick to solid round rifles.
Yeah, pretty much. The beam probably would be easy to track unless you are at extreme range (Think of a case like Lalah's attack on Konpeitoh Island in MSG), however, solid rifles may not be powerful enough (Although I honestly doubt it would be too hard to make a good one) and from a purely out-of-universe standpoint, beams look cooler than nothing at all (Which is what you'd get with the oft suggested non-tracer firing standard sniper rifle). :|
I must betray Stalindog!!!

RPG TRINARY: Mash
Die Anti-brutale Kraft: mcred23 (Call me 'red', not 'mcred')
Dark Duel

@mcred: This is mostly me nitpciking, but saying "Konpeitoh Island" is redundant, as the "Toh" portion means "Island" - so you're basically saying "Konpei Island Island"
@quasadra: Still mostly me nitpicking, but the official spelling is "Anf"