RCX-76 Guncannon: Why did it suck so bad?

The future is now. This is the place for mecha and science.
LTJGLono

RCX-76 Guncannon: Why did it suck so bad?

Hey, I'm new to the forum here.

I've been a huge MSG fan since I was in High School. Started with Gundam Wing of course, but then I graduated to the original and absolutely fell in love. I love the suits, the ships, the pilots, the stories or war and how civilians deal with those horrors.

I was just recently introduced to Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin, and I have watched all 4 parts of the OVA. It relit the fire of my love for Gundam and I've must have watched all of them several times now.

So here's my big question about MS in The Origin: Why did the RCX-76 Guncannon suck so bad? It seemed like a pretty solid MS, with a cannon and gattling gun, and honestly it looks almost identical to the RX-77-02 Guncannon. So what made the RCX-76 so bad and the RX-77-02 better?

We know that somehow their different, even Tem Ray said "This is not what Dr. Minovsky called a 'mobile suit. This isn't it at all."

But why? What was so different about the RCX-76 that made it inferior to Zeon's MS-05?
Deacon Blues

Re: RCX-76 Guncannon: Why did it suck so bad?

Anaheim's development team and the Federation bigwigs were at fault when it came to mobile suit design. The Zeon's designs always had an emphasis placed on versatility whereas the Federation's was merely a humanoid mobile weapon as an extension of larger combat vehicles. Combine this with the clunky manipulators as opposed to hands and you can see that they didn't give it any close combat weapons, so that's another check in the bad column.
toysdream

That explanation from the HG kit manual seems to boil down to "it didn't have a heat hawk," though, which seems like a weak explanation for what the story depicts as a vast categorical difference.

-- Mark
Dark Duel